





New Scholarship for Students from Algonquin Communities

PEMBROKE, April 19, 2022 – The Algonquins of Ontario (AOO) and the Taggart Group have officially announced the creation and launch of a new scholarship for students from Algonquin communities, *The Taggart Award for Algonquin Students*.

Created to support Algonquin students who require financial assistance for their post-secondary education, the AOO and Taggart have leveraged additional support through a partnership with Indspire for up to 12 students to receive \$3,000 each through the new award in 2022-23.

Although demonstrated financial need will be the primary consideration for successful applicants, other factors may also be considered such as contribution to the community as a whole and demonstrated academic merit and performance.

This award is to be distributed to eligible students of Algonquin heritage from the following Algonquin communities who are attending a college, university, technical college, or apprenticeship program in Canada:

- Antoine
- Algonquins of Pikwakanagan First Nation
- Bonnechere

- Greater Golden Lake
- Kijicho Manito Madaouskarini (Bancroft)
- Mattawa/North Bay
- Ottawa
- Shabot Obaadjiwan (Sharbot Lake)
- Snimikobi (Ardoch)
- Whitney and Area

A panel of jurists made up of First Nations, Inuit, and Métis professionals and/or those employed within the program category for which applicants are being considered will select the recipients.

"The Algonquins of Ontario are committed to creating the conditions for a successful future for our young people," said Wendy Jocko, Chief of the Algonquins of Pikwakanagan First Nation. "The last two years have been particularly difficult for all students. In partnership with Taggart, this scholarship is meant to provide Algonquin students support as they reach for their goals."

"The Taggart Group is proud to be part of this special award recognizing the hard work of young Algonquins who are deeply committed to their education and giving back to their

communities," said Michelle Taggart, Vice President Land Development, Tamarack Developments & Taggart Investments.

"This award represents a significant new opportunity for Algonquin learners to pursue their dreams through education," said Mike DeGagné, President & CEO of Indspire. "We are very pleased to be working in partnership with the Algonquins of Ontario and the Taggart Group to create this new avenue for Indigenous success."

Applications are online at https://indspire.ca/programs/students/bursaries-scholarships/ and must be submitted by February 1, August 1, and November 1 each year. Indspire's application for the 2022-23 academic year opens on May 1, 2022.

-30-

About Algonquins of Ontario

Algonquins have lived in present-day Ontario since thousands of years before Europeans arrived. Today, the AOO are comprised of 10 Algonquin communities. The 10 communities are represented by 16 Algonquin Negotiation Representatives (ANRs) who are elected by Algonquin voters for three-year terms. The ANRs include the Chief and Council of the Algonquins of Pikwakanagan First Nation and one representative from each of the nine other Algonquin communities. Based on a Protocol signed in 2004, these communities are working together to provide a unified approach to reach a settlement of the Algonquin land claim.

About the Taggart Group

The Taggart Group (Taggart) has been committed to integrity, quality and community in everything it does since 1948. Taggart has a strong reputation for technical expertise, integrity, and cooperation.

About Indspire

Indspire is an Indigenous national charity that invests in the education of First Nations, Inuit, and Métis people for the long-term benefit of these individuals, their families and communities, and Canada. With the support of its funding partners, Indspire provides financial awards, delivers programs and shares resources so that First Nations, Inuit, and Métis students will achieve their highest potential. In 2020-2021, Indspire provided more than \$20 million through 6,245 bursaries and scholarships to First Nations, Inuit and Métis students across Canada.